OR State Motorcycle Insurance Laws
The state of Oregon requires motorcyclists to have motorcycle insurance to help insure that riders remain financially responsible in a crash. According to Oregon’s motorcycle laws, you are required to have liability insurance to cover costs associated with property damage or bodily injuries you cause to others in an accident of which you are found at-fault.
Your motorcycle insurance policy must include the following minimum liability coverage limits per accident:
$50,000/crash: bodily injury to another party
$20,000/crash: property damage to another party
$25,000/person and $50,000 per crash
Uninsured Motorist Coverage
You may want higher amounts of coverage to protect your assets.
Oregon is one of several “no-fault” states. This means that drivers must carry Personal Injury Protection (PIP) coverage to help pay for their own injury-related costs after an accident no matter who is found at fault. This requirement does NOT apply to motorcycles. PIP is NOT required as a part of your motorcycle insurance policy.
In Oregon, everyone must wear a helmet, no matter the age.
Oregon State allows you several methods to prove you’re insured. While you are using your motorcycle, you should have one of the following:
- Actual insurance card provided by your motorcycle insurance agent/company.
- Actual insurance policy.
- Official signed letter from your insurance agent, stating that you are insured and what your policy number, license plate and name is.
Oregon – Penalties for Failure to Maintain Financial Responsibility
If you have an accident or are pulled over and you do not have insurance, your license could be suspended and you may have to file an SR-22 certificate proving your financial responsibility with the DMV for the next 3 years. There could also be additional fines and penalties.
Oregon also performs random insurance checks. The DMV picks names randomly to check on whether or not you are insured. You may receive a letter asking for your motorcycle insurance policy number and insurance company name. The DMV will call the insurance company to confirm the coverage. If you fail to respond to the letter, your license will be suspended. It is important to notify the DMV of any change of address.